

UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY WASHINGTON, D.C. 20460

February 27, 2003

OFFICE OF THE ADMINISTRATOR SCIENCE ADVISORY BOARD

EPA-SAB-RAC-CON-03-002

Honorable Christine Todd Whitman Administrator U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20460

> Subject: Consultation on Multi-Agency Radiation Site Survey Investigation Manual (MARSSIM) Supplements for Materials & Equipment (MARSAME): A Science Advisory Board Notification of a Consultation

Dear Governor Whitman:

The Radiation Advisory Committee (RAC) of the EPA Science Advisory Board (SAB) met on February 25-27, 2003 to conduct a consultation with staff from the Environmental Protection Agency's Office of Radiation and Indoor Air (ORIA), and the federal MARSSIM Work Group, comprised of members of the federal U.S. EPA, U.S. DOE, DOD, and the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (U.S. NRC) to review the progress to date and future plans for creating a technical manual for the MARSSIM Supplement for Materials & Equipment (MARSAME). It is important to note that the federal MARSSIM Work Group came back to the SAB's RAC for this consultation as a follow-up to suggestions made by the SAB's RAC in a review of MARSSIM in 1997 (See EPA-SAB-RAC-97-008, dated September 30, 1997).

The SAB has developed the Consultation as a mechanism to advise the Agency on technical issues that should be considered in the development of regulations, guidelines, or technical guidance before the Agency has taken a position. A Consultation is conducted under the normal requirements of the Federal Advisory Committee Act, which include advance notice of the public meeting in the <u>Federal Register</u>.

As is our customary practice, there will be no formal report from the SAB as a result of this Consultation, nor do we expect any formal response from the Agency. However, the Committee looks forward to a full peer review of this MARSSIM supplement (MARSAME) as a separate subject matter from this exercise when the federal MARSSIM Work Group is ready with their written draft within a year or so.

Sincerely,

/Signed/

/Signed/

Dr. William Glaze, Chair EPA Science Advisory Board Dr. Janet A. Johnson, Chair Radiation Advisory Committee EPA Science Advisory Board

NOTICE

This report has been written as part of the activities of the EPA Science Advisory Board, a public advisory group providing extramural scientific information and advice to the Administrator and other officials of the Environmental Protection Agency. The Board is structured to provide balanced, expert assessment of scientific matters related to problems facing the Agency. This report has not been reviewed for approval by the Agency and, hence, the contents of this report do not necessarily represent the views and policies of the Environmental Protection Agency, nor of other agencies in the Executive Branch of the Federal government, nor does mention of trade names or commercial products constitute a recommendation for use.

Distribution and Availability: This EPA Science Advisory Board report is provided to the EPA Administrator, senior Agency management, appropriate program staff, interested members of the public, and is posted on the SAB website (www.epa.gov/sab). Information on its availability is also provided in the SAB's monthly newsletter (*Happenings at the Science Advisory Board*). Additional copies and further information are available from the SAB Staff [US EPA Science Advisory Board (1400A), 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20460-0001; 202-564-4533].

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Science Advisory Board Radiation Advisory Committee

CHAIR

Dr. Janet A. Johnson, Senior Technical Advisor, MFG, Inc., Fort Collins, CO Also Member: Executive Committee

SAB MEMBERS

Dr. Lynn Anspaugh, Research Professor, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT

- Dr. Bruce Boecker, Scientist Emeritus, Lovelace Respiratory Research Institute, Albuquerque, NM
- Dr. Gilles Bussod, President, Science Network International, Inc., Santa Fe, NM
- Dr. Helen Ann Grogan, President, Cascade Scientific, Inc., Bend, OR
- **Dr. Richard W. Hornung**¹, Director, Division of Biostatistical Research, IHPHSR, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH
- **Dr. Jill Lipoti**, Assistant Director, Environmental Safety, Health and Analytical Programs, Radiation Protection Program, New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection, Trenton, NJ
- Dr. Genevieve Roessler, Professor Emeritus and Radiation Consultant, Elysian, MN
- Dr. Richard J. Vetter, Head, Radiation Safety Program, Mayo Medical School, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN

SCIENCE ADVISORY BOARD STAFF

Dr. K. Jack Kooyoomjian, Designated Federal Officer

Ms. Betty Fortune, Office Assistant

1

Dr. Hornung was unable to participate in this consultation, due to a schedule conflict.

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Science Advisory Board Executive Committee

CHAIR

Dr. William H. Glaze, Professor, Department of Environmental & Biomolecular Systems, OGI School of Science & Engineering, Oregon Health & Science University, Beaverton, OR

MEMBERS

- **Dr. Henry Anderson**, Chief Medical Officer, Division of Public Health, Wisconsin Division of Public Health, Madison, WI Also Member: Environmental Health Committee
- **Dr. Trudy Cameron**, Raymond F. Mikesell Professor of Environmental and Resource Economics, Department of Economics, University of Oregon, Eugene, OR Also Member: Advisory Council on Clean Air Compliance Analysis
- **Dr. Maureen L. Cropper**, Lead Economist, The World Bank, Washington, DC Also Member: Environmental Economics Advisory Committee
- **Dr. Kenneth Cummins**, Senior Advisory Scientist, California Cooperative Fishery Research Unit, Humboldt State University, Arcata, CA
- Dr. Virginia Dale, Corporate Fellow, Environmental Sciences Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, TN Also Member: Ecological Processes and Effects Committee
- **Dr. Domenico Grasso**, Rosemary Bradford Hewlett Professor and Chair, Picker Engineering Program, Smith College, Northampton, MA Also Member: Environmental Engineering Committee
- **Dr. Linda Greer**, Senior Scientist, Natural Resources Defense Council, Washington, DC Also Member: Research Strategies Advisory Committee
- **Dr. Philip Hopke**, Bayard D. Clarkson Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering, Clarkson University, Potsdam, NY Also Member: Research Strategies Advisory Committee Clean Air Scientific Advisory Committee
- **Dr. Janet A. Johnson**, Senior Technical Advisor, MFG, Inc., Fort Collins, CO Also Member: Radiation Advisory Committee
- **Dr. Roger E. Kasperson**, Executive Director, Stockholm Environment Institute, Stockholm, , Sweden Also Member: Research Strategies Advisory Committee
- **Dr. Raymond C. Loehr**, Professor, Department of Civil Engineering, University of Texas, Austin, TX

- **Dr. Genevieve Matanoski**, Professor, Department of Epidemiology, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD Also Member: Research Strategies Advisory Committee
- **Dr. M. Granger Morgan**, Head, Department of Engineering and Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA
- **Dr. Rebecca Parkin**, Associate Research Professor, Environmental and Occupational Health, Public Health and Health Services, The George Washington University, Washington, DC Also Member: Integrated Human Exposure Committee
- **Dr. William H. Smith**, Clifton R. Musser Professor Emeritus of Forest Biology, Yale University, Center Harbor, NH
- **Dr. R. Rhodes Trussell**, Senior Vice President, MWH-Montgomery Watson Harza, Pasadena, CA Also Member: Drinking Water Committee

LIAISONS

Dr. Jerald Schnoor, Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA Liaison from the EPA Board of Scientific Counselors (BOSC)

SCIENCE ADVISORY BOARD STAFF

Mr. A. Robert Flaak, Designated Federal Officer

Ms Betty Fortune, Office Assistant

Ms. Diana Pozun, Program Specialist