What is EPA's Local Government Advisory Committee (LGAC)?
   The Local Government Advisory Committee is an officially chartered committee under the
Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA). Its purpose is to provide advice and
recommendations that assist the EPA in developing a stronger partnership with Local
Governments through building state and local capacity to deliver environmental services and
programs. The committee provides recommendations to the EPA on a broad range of topics,
including: regulatory innovation and reform, environmental protection tools, pollution
prevention, new technologies, performance measurement, and appropriate roles of the
various governmental levels in efficient and coordinated environmental management.
  Key Accomplishments:

  •    Sustainable Water Infrastructure
      DVD and Case Studies- A tool for
      local governments promoting capitol
      investments in water and sewer
  •    Guide for Local Government
      Officials- A reference pocket guide for
      local government officials that provided
      listings for federal government
  •    Great Lakes Program-A discussion
      that provided key recommendations to
      improve coordination and engage local
      governments in the Great Lakes
  •    EPA's Recycling Toolkit and
      Calculator-A set of recommendations
      provided to the EPA's Office of Solid
      Waste to improve outreach to
      encourage recycling programs in small
  •    Legacy Diesel Fleet
      Recommendations- A set of
      comments submitted on EPA's
      recommendations to address diesel
      EPA Strategic Plan for 2006-2011-A
      set of comments that provided
      recommendations on Agency's
      Strategic Plan.
LGAC Members

The Federal Advisory Committee Act
(FACA) requires that advisory committee
membership be balanced in terms of the
points of view represented and the
functions performed by the committee.
The LGAC is unique in having members
that are locally elected officials such as
mayors, county executives,
commissioners, and others that represent
key interests of local governments.
                  LGAC Chair:
                  Roy Prescott
                  Rancher, Jerome, ID
                  Ph: (208) 324-0436
LGAC Workgroups:
   .   Water
   .   Solid Waste
       Watersheds and Coastlines
       Military issues
                               For more information visit:
  Or contact: Frances Eargle, Designated Federal Officer, (202)564-3115, or email: Earqle.Frances@.epa.qov

        ocal Government Aelvi
        /, Jfcj i         Fact Sheet
What are "Small Communities" and how are they important to EPA?

   EPA generally defines small communities as a town that serves 2,500 residents or less.
There are estimated to be over 26,000 small town governments in this country that deal with
drinking water systems, incinerators, storm water systems, and landfills. Some of these
communities own underground storage tanks, chemical and pesticide storage sites and gravel
pits.  Small communities also own electric utility plants including coal power, nuclear, natural
gas and steam generating plants.  These communities effectively handle environmental issues
such  as solid waste, medical waste, and hazardous waste.  EPA and these small communities
share the common mission of protecting human health and the environment.
The Small Community Advisory Subcommittee (SCAS)
Chairperson: Steve Jenkins

   The Small Community Advisory Subcommittee (SCAS) is a
subcommittee of the Local Government Advisory Committee
(LGAC) and was established by the EPA in 1996 to advise the
Administrator on environmental issues of concern to residents of
smaller communities. The SCAS is an independently appointed
subcommittee of the LGAC and was created as a response to
the tailored and specific needs of small communities.

                            SCAS contact person:
                                Anna Raymond
                              Office: 202-564-3663
     For additional Information please visit: http://www.epa.gov/ocir/state&local.htm
                                                        Office of Congressional and

                                                        Intergovernmental Relations

                                                            Washington, DC 20460


                                                               EPA 200-B-07-001